校对还是润色

校对还是润色?

您需要哪种服务来支持您发表文章?

文章被提交至高品质的期刊后,在被挑选进入同行评审阶段之前会经过严格的审阅。约有 30% 至 50% 提交至Elsevier期刊的原稿在进入同行评审阶段前就会被退稿,而其中一个退稿原因就是语言水平欠佳。

确保您的作品做好投稿准备

期刊的投稿过程通常会很耗时;您的作品最长需要 25 周的时间才会被审阅。经历了如此漫长的等待,您一定不想再冒由于语言原因被退稿的风险。

为了确保您的作品在投稿时已妥善准备好,您最好请一位专家来检查,并修改您文章中任何语言相关的错误。您有很多选择。

那么现在问题来了: 您应该选择校对服务,还是语言润色服务呢?

校对与润色有何区别?

“校对”和“润色”似乎很像,但实际上这两者之间有很重要的区别。

校对 关注的是修改拼写、语法、句法、标点和格式等表面的错误。因此,这种情况常常发生在写作的最后阶段,当文章准备投稿的时候。

而另一方面, 润色 更深层次地检查信息和想法的呈现方式。尽管润色包括校对的所有步骤,但它关注的是把文章打磨得更浅显易懂、条理清晰且更加适合读者阅读。润色是编写研究论文的关键一步,所以在写作过程中通常需要多次润色。

校对还是润色:我需要哪种服务?

研究者通常认为他们在投稿之前只需要校对来定稿。然而,根据我们的经验,校对通常是不够的,当我们润色论文时,我们 总是 就如何更好地安排文章内容的结构和如何呈现文章内容向作者提出建议。

一位了解您研究领域的编辑可以提供更多有用的反馈。例如,我们的编辑是我们根据您的研究领域为您挑选的博士级别专家,他们拥有所需的专业知识,能够去深入理解您的作品并提出意见。

投稿不仅要稿件没有错误,清晰易懂对于成功出版也极为重要。单靠校对,您会错过能让您的原稿通过审阅的建设性意见。

由于我们总能在论文中找到需要改进的地方,我们坚信作者在投稿前应该先进行润色和校对。正因为如此,我们在语言润色高级语言润色 中同时包括润色和校对。

我需要语言润色还是高级语言润色?

Elsevier 的 英语语言润色高级语言润色 服务之间的主要区别在于, 高级语言润色 包括不限次数的多轮润色以及其他高级编辑服务。

如果您认为您的论文已接近定稿,并准备润色后直接投稿,那么 英语语言润色 应是您的最佳选择。

然而,作者经常也会在写作后期,重写其论文的一部分章节。这些最后的细微改动同样需要进行润色,因为重写的部分不仅需要检查表面的错误,还要检查与文章其他部分的一致性和连贯性。

如果您觉得文章中的部分内容或某些章节内容将需要多次重写才能定稿,那么您应该需要进行多轮润色。这时, 高级语言润色就是您的最佳选择。

结论

语言水平欠佳是造成退稿的首要原因之一。修改您文章中的语言错误将让评审专注于您研究成果的质量,而非您的语言技能,从而增加您出版的成功率。

校对是投稿之前重要的最终步骤,但它只关注修改表面的错误。而润色则会更深层次地检查您论文中的内容,让它更浅显易懂、条理清晰且更加适合读者阅读。单靠校对,您会错过能让您的文稿通过审阅的建设性意见。

由于校对和润色都对您打造出色的论文极为重要,我们在 英语语言润色 高级语言润色 中同时包括润色和校对。


前往语言润色 前往高级语言润色

Proofreading or editing

Proofreading or editing?

Which service do you need to get your article published?

When an article is submitted to a high-quality journal, it is examined critically before it is selected for peer review. For instance at Elsevier, between 30 and 50 percent of articles submitted to our journals are rejected before they even reach the peer review stage, and one of the top reasons for rejection is poor language.

Make sure your work is submission ready

The journal submission process is also often extremely time-consuming; it can take up to 25 weeks before your work has been reviewed. After all of that waiting, you don’t want to take the risk that your work will be rejected for language reasons.

In order to make sure your work is submission ready, it is a good idea to have a professional examine and correct your article for any language-related errors. There are a lot of options available.

Now the question is: Should you choose a proofreading service or a language editing service?

What is the difference between proofreading and editing?

The terms ‘proofreading’ and ‘editing’ are sometimes used interchangeably, but in fact there are important differences between the two.

Proofreading focuses on correcting superficial errors in spelling, grammar, syntax, punctuation, and formatting. Therefore, it normally occurs at the end of the writing process as a final step before submitting a paper which is otherwise ready to be published.

On the other hand, editing takes a deeper look at how information and ideas are presented. While editing includes all steps involved in proofreading, the focus is on making changes that make an article easier to understand, better organized, and more suitable for the audience. Because editing is an essential part of formulating a research argument, it occurs multiple times throughout the writing process.

Proofreading or editing: which service do I need?

Researchers often believe that they only need proofreading to finalize their articles before submission. However, in our experience, proofreading is often not enough, and when we edit papers we always have suggestions for authors on how to better structure and present the content of their articles.

An editor who understands your field can provide even more useful feedback. For example, the editors we work with are PhD-level professionals selected according to your research area, so they have the subject matter expertise experience necessary to understand and critique your work on a deeper level.

Submitting a paper that is not only error-free but also clear and understandable is essential to getting published. With proofreading alone, you miss out on the kind of constructive criticism that could make the difference between your manuscript getting accepted or not. 

Because we have found that there is always room for improvement, we are convinced that authors should have their papers edited and proofread before submitting. That’s why we include both editing and proofreading in our English Language Editing and Language Editing Plus services.

Do I need Language Editing or Language Editing Plus?

The main difference between Elsevier’s English Language Editing and Language Editing Plus services is that Plus includes unlimited rounds of editing, along with other premium editing services.

If you are confident that your paper is nearly ready and that you will submit it directly after editing, then English Language Editing should be the best option for you. 

However, it is not uncommon for an author to rewrite portions of their paper late in the writing process. These last minute changes should also be edited, since the rewritten text should not only be checked for superficial errors but also for consistency and cohesiveness with the rest of the article.

If you believe that parts or sections of your article will need to be rewritten multiple times before it becomes the final version and you would therefore like to take advantage of multiple editing rounds, you’ll need Language Editing Plus.

Conclusion

Poor language is one of the top reasons why journals reject articles. Having your article corrected for language errors will allow reviewers focus on the quality of your research rather than your language skills and should increase your chances of getting published. 

While proofreading is an important final step before submitting a paper which is otherwise ready to be published, it only focuses on correcting superficial errors. Meanwhile, editing takes a deeper look at the content of your paper and can help make it much easier to understand, better organized, and more suitable for the audience. With proofreading alone, you miss out on the kind of feedback that can make the difference between getting published or not. 

Because both proofreading and editing are essential to helping you produce the best possible paper, we include both editing and proofreading in our English Language Editing and Language Editing Plus services.


GO TO LANGUAGE EDITING GO TO LANGUAGE EDITING PLUS